massage and bodywork professionals

a community of practitioners

Do you have days where you just don't feel like working? Where it is challenging to just get through the work day? And how do you find the motivation/energy to give a good massage?

I am worried that I am on the verge of burning out already! I still enjoy the work I do. I don't have a problem getting up and going into work. My problem is staying "present" for each client. And having the strength and energy to get through my whole day. This doesn't happen every day. But it has happened a few times. How to get grounded on those days so I can be client-centered? And be energetic?

Views: 542

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

Jimswife, I just started learning how to meditate; I'm not good at it yet but it is really restorative.  You might also get yourself checked out by a naturopath - I had hypothyroidism, VERY low iron and 2 chronic infections!  I am doing much better now but I'm still not "bullet proof" to quote my naturopath.

I definitely have days like you are talking about.  I have to dig deep at those times and do the best I can.  The longer you do this, the "easier" it gets.  I used quotation marks because it's never easy for me on the bad days; it's just better than it used to be.

Thank you for that Therese. I am taking comfort in knowing I am not the only one who has days like that. (where you have to dig deep) I do plan to get a complete physical as soon as insurance kicks in again. Thyroid problems run in my family. And I have wondered if that is why I have been so tired.

You're welcome!