massage and bodywork professionals

a community of practitioners

I have been bothered for some time regarding the deterioration of our standards i.e pay scales and expectations of employers. Places like Massage Envy have turned what we offer into a Mc Donalds massage, exploiting new grads and those challenged by marketing, and or unaffiliated to stand for a decent rate of pay in a tight economy. As a primarily chair therapist i have seen a growing number of massage companies lower their rates from $40-50 an hour to $25-30. Spas and gyms expect us to hang out and wash showers etc. if we have no customers. The other day a referred employer told me they had just hired a chair therapist. She added, "what we particularly like is she doesn't mind if there are a lot of gaps in the schedule. She just brings a book." I wanted to say, if you ordered a pizza, then just took 4 slices... would you expect the pizza company to not charge for the food he prepared, delivered and then could not sell? That is our time people! If we don't place a value on it... why should anyone else?

I don't know what to do about this. but i think the first thing is to request reasonable rates and turn down a job here and there. Talk to each other. Support each other in taking this stand. Right articles. A damn well make sure we are worth it when we do work.

Gary

Views: 722

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

Very much what I've been thinking. Besides massage franchises, there are people in my area who are financially secure and doing on-site as a 'hobby' for $30-$45/hour. I am repeatedly asked why I charge 'so much compared to so-and-so.' 'so much' is $45/hour within city limits, $55/hour within 45 minutes drive, so not even market rate, let alone an exhorbinant amount. I have yet to find an answer other than "I charge what my time and services are worth." that doesn't sound snarky or discredit the other therapists.