massage and bodywork professionals

a community of practitioners

I am in CA and am ready to start school. I had 6 misdemeanors, 1 which was misdemeanor battery, between 2007 and 2011. I got them all expunged in 2014, and have not had issues with the law in 8 years. It will be 9 years when I apply to be certified. Will this be hard for me to get licensed with?

Views: 159

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

I do not practice in California but you should talk with your school's career guidance counselor if they have one or the schools director about this issue unless you feel that your past history would jade them towards you.

California is a voluntary certification state but local or county regs may require you to be certified. If you haven't already go to the California Massage Therapy Council's website and maybe even give them a call to find out more. Here is there contact information just in case you need it.

California Massage Therapy Council
One Capitol Mall, Suite 320
Sacramento, CA 95814
Tel: 916-669-5336
Fax: 916-444-7462

> Website

Voluntary Certification 
Title: Certified Massage Therapist

Requirement: 500 hours and MBLEx or NCBTMB
Renewal: no CEU req/2yrs

Hopefully, you'll get an answer from a CA-based therapist or two. Wish I could be of more help.

Reply to Discussion

RSS

© 2019   Created by Lara Evans Bracciante.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service